- You must be at least 18 years of age when applying for license.
- Complete a 90-Hour Course
- Get fingerprinted. The school offers fingerprint resources during your 90 hour program
- Complete Clearance Card Application
- Pass a School Examination
- Pass a State Examination
- Complete Intro to Contract Writing/”Bootcamp” Certification
- Apply for License
You must be at least 18 years of age when applying for license.
Complete a 90-Hour Course
- 18 classes equaling 90 hours of pre-licensing education.
- Arizona Department of Real Estate requires all 90 hours to be completed in a classroom setting.
- Class credit cannot be given for more than 2 classes (9 hours) of education daily.
Course Completion Time Limit
- All 18 classes must be taken and students must have successfully passed the school exam within 6 months of the date of the first class attended.
- Extension course fees:
- After six months, but less than 1 year – 1/3 of regular school tuition.
- After 1 year, but less than 2 years – 2/3 of regular school tuition.
- 2 years and more – FULL current school tuition.
- Extension exam fee: Any student wishing to extend testing time will be allowed to do so by paying the non-refundable extension fee of $100.
- This will allow students another 3 months in which to test and attend the Basic Sales Licensing State Exam Review, it also includes 4 study packets.
Pass a School Examination
- All classes must be completed prior to taking the school exam.
- You may register for the school exam online.
- You must register for the school exam by noon the day prior to the exam date.
- The school exam is 200 multiple-choice questions.
- 75% is the passing score. You must check in 15 minutes early for your scheduled exam with only your government issued picture ID, calculator, car keys and nothing else.
- Late arrivals will not be permitted to take the exam.
- You are given four (4) hours to complete the exam.
- Exam results will be posted online within 24 hours of your scheduled exam.
- After passing the school exam and prior to being licensed, the ADRE requires each student to attend a 6 hour course in contract writing called “Introduction to Contract Writing” or “Bootcamp.”
- This course fulfills 3 hours of Real Estate Legal Issues (L) and 3 hours of Contract Law (CL) renewal credits for your first renewal.
- Certification will be given at the end of class.
- Course fee is $40.00. View Bootcamp Schedule.
Taking the State Examination
- Register and schedule your examinations with Pearson Vue.
- In order to register and schedule your state exam you must have your Prelicensure Education Certificate and Candidate Information Bulletin containing detailed instructions for scheduling your state exam. The Prelicensure Certificate and Information Bulletin will be available to pick up at the campus you started classes, once your score is posted online.
- You must take your Prelicensure Education Certificate with you when you take the state examination.
How to Schedule a State Exam
- Internet: www.pearsonvue.com Select: TestTakers
- Phone: 888-405-5776
- Hours: Monday – Friday 6am – 9pm MST, Saturday – 6am – 3pm MST, Sunday – 6am – 2pm MST
- State exam consists of 80 general real estate and 90 Arizona State Law multiple-choice questions.
- 75% is the passing score for each of the two exam sections
- not a combination of exams
- costs $75.00 for real estate agents $125 for brokers
- Student must arrive at least 30 minutes prior to their scheduled testing time and have:
- The Prelicensure Education Certificate form received from the school attended
- 2 forms of Identification with Legal Name, one must be government issued with photo, second can be a signed credit card, debit card, or original S.S. card.
- it must have a current photo and your signature
- the name on the identification must exactly match the name used to register for the exam (including designations such as “Jr.” or “III”)
- a 4-function calculator.
- registration confirmation number
- Failure to provide appropriate identification and all required documentation at the time of the examination is considered a missed appointment and the fee will be forfeited.
- Exams are given on a personal computer at the Testing Center.
- You do not need any computer experience or typing skills to take an exam.
- Exam results are given immediately.
- if a student fails any portion of the exam they must retake only the portion they failed.
- A $75.00 retest fee will be charged for any failed exam.
- Cancellation of State Exams is required 3 full days prior to your testing reservation or the charged fee will be collected and rescheduling will result in an additional fee.
Clearance Card Application
Effective immediately, all new real estate sales & broker applicants will be required to obtain a valid fingerprint clearance card from the Arizona Department of Public Safety prior to submitting their application to the Arizona Department of Real Estate.
- Fingerprinting is available at both Scottsdale and Gilbert campuses. View Fingerprinting Schedule.
Clearance Card Applications are to be completed and mailed to the Department of Public Safety with the fee of $67.00 (cashiers check or money order made payable to the Department of Public Safety).
- DPS ESTIMATES 5 to 8 weeks processing time.
- Clearance cards are valid for 6 years.
- Robb Arthur currently provides fingerprinting services on campus. He has clearance card applications and will assist in accurately completing them, his fee is $10 and will accept cash or check.
How to Apply for your License
License application takes place at:
The Arizona Department of Real Estate
Attn: Licensing & Professional Education
2910 N. 44th Street, Ste. 140
Phoenix, Arizona 85018
The following information will be required when applying for your license:
- Original Salesperson Application & Fee
- Prelicensure Education Certificate received from the school
- State Exam Score Report(s) from Pearson Vue
- Proof of Legal Presence
- Original Licensure Questionnaire – Form LI-214
- Arizona DPS Clearance Card (front & back copy)
- “Bootcamp” (Introduction to Contract Writing) completion certificate
- To obtain an active license you must also present a hiring form (LI-202 Salesperson/Associate Broker change form) provided by your broker.
- ADRE license fee is $50.00.
- Real Estate Recovery Fund is $10.00
ADRE will accept applications for same day processing Monday through Friday. The cut off time for same day processing is 4:30 pm.
You may also submit through the ADRE message center.
“Arizona School of Real Estate and Business was highly recommended to get my Real estate license. I am happy to say I’m glad I followed that advise. The teachers are very knowledgeable and helpful to make sure you not only learn the materials, but understand it. I have already recommended the school to 3 other people interested in getting their license! I look forward to starting my career!”
“Arizona School of Real Estate and Business came highly recommended to me from industry contacts that went through the program. The 9-day crash course did a phenomenal job of delivering clear, concise information. The instructors were terrific and kept the classes on track to deliver excellent results. The school provided the tools that allowed me to pass both the school and state exams on the first try."
“Highly Recommend! I truly enjoyed my classes at ASREB and felt like they really prepared me for the State and National tests, but most of all I had fun and loved the content of the classes and the different personalities of the instructors. I attended the weekend class schedule and it worked out great! It was a fantastic experience and I met a lot of great people along the way!”