How to Get Your Real Estate Salesperson License in Arizona
Arizona State Required Salesperson Pre-Licensing Hours: 90 hours + 6 hours of Introduction To Contract Writing
ASREB Arizona Course Hours Offered: 96 hours
Step 1: Meet the general Arizona real estate license requirements as outlined on the Arizona Department of Real Estate Website.
- Be at least 18 years of age when applying for a license.
- The Department CANNOT issue a license to a person convicted of a felony who is incarcerated, paroled or under community supervision or on probation. The Department may not issue a license to a person who has been convicted of a felony, or convicted of a misdemeanor offense, such as (but not limited to) theft, forgery, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, violence against another person, or crimes of moral turpitude.
Step 2: Complete the approved 90 hours of pre-licensing education.
Step 3: Pass the school exam.
Step 4: Get a Fingerprint Clearance Card.
Step 5: Schedule your State License Exam and pass with a 75%.
Step 6: Complete the 6-hour Introduction to Contract Writing Course.
Step 7: Submit your Application.
Need help finding a broker? Attend one of our Career Expos!
How long does it take to get an Arizona real estate license?
On average, it takes between one (1) – three (3) months to get an Arizona real estate license. It all depends on the pace in which you complete the 90 hour pre-licensing and 6 hour Contract Writing courses, the time it takes you to pass your school and state exams, and how long the AZ Department of Public Safety takes to process your fingerprint clearance card.
What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Arizona?
Per ASREB policy, the 90-hour pre-license coursework and school exam for salespersons must be completed within six (6) months of enrollment/purchase date. Student may audit any specific session(s) one additional time within the 6-month period. There are 18 required sessions that make up the 90 hours. Each session is independent of one another and may be taken in any order. Livestream and Classroom students who need to miss a class or customize their class schedule can do so at any time in the online student account.
Required sessions include:
- Property Rights
- Estates & Tenancies
- Title Transfer
- Liens & Encumbrances
- Investment & Taxation
- Residential Financing
- Math & Equal Opportunity
- Property Management
- Law of Real Estate
- Agency and Public Protection
- Real Estate Contracts
- Listing & Purchase Contracts
- Real Estate Appraisal
- Legal Land Description
- Escrow & Closing
- Broker Practices & Legal Procedures
- Disclosures-Warranties, Construction & Development
How do I register for the Arizona real estate licensing state exam?
The salesperson examinations must be taken with PearsonVue. The state requires that you achieve a score of 75% or higher to pass. At ASREB, we will help you prepare for the Arizona real estate licensing exam with the best online exam prep program in the industry – CompuCram. You will learn at your own pace and get tools to set you up for success in your future career.
Salesperson License applications must occur within 1 year from the date of passing the state examination, or the state exam must be retaken and passing score reports presented. Submitting an application by 5 pm on the last business day of the one year period will require a retake and passing of the examination.
How do I submit my fingerprints for the background check?
ASREB offers fingerprint kits to help you fulfill this requirement from the comfort of your own home. For more information about our fingerprinting kits, click here.
Submit your fingerprint cards along with the non-IVP Fingerprint Clearance Card Application to the Arizona Department of Public Safety. You may obtain a Fingerprint Clearance Card Application by requesting one from the Dept or Public Safety at 602-223-2279. Or you may print one from the AZDPS Fingerprint Clearance Card website at https://www.azdps.gov/services/public/fingerprint.
Complete the application thoroughly and accurately. Use Black or Blue Ink. Your application packet to the Arizona Department of Public Safety must include the following:
- DPS Application (white copy ONLY) for fingerprint clearance card form
- Fingerprint card
- Fingerprint clearance card fee of $67. Only cashier’s checks, money orders or a check drawn on a business account made payable to the AZ Department of Public Safety will be accepted.
Place the application packet in a large envelope with sufficient postage and a return address. Do not fold, bend or damage the fingerprint card. Mail the completed application packet to:
Arizona Department of Public Safety
PO BOX 18390
Phoenix, AZ 85005-8390
How do I submit my Arizona Salesperson application?
Those who pass the state examination will be sent a Salesperson License Application and instructions by PearsonVue, then the application and required supporting documentation will be submitted to the Arizona Department of Real Estate through their online message center for review.
To apply for an Arizona Real Estate License, you must have the following documents:
- Original Salesperson Application & Fee
- Original Arizona Exam Score Report(s) from PearsonVue
- Pre-Licensure Education Certificate- the 90 hour certificate with the authorized signature, unless seeking out-of-state license recognition.
- Proof of Legal Presence (Front & Back)
- Disciplinary Actions Disclosure Form (LI-214/244)
- Disclosure Document Checklist Form (LI-400) & Documentation *if applicable
- DPS issued AZ Fingerprint Clearance Card (Front & Back)
- 6 Hour Introduction to Contract Writing Course Certificate
Does Arizona offer reciprocity?
Arizona may recognize Out-of-State licenses. To view specific Out-of-State license Recognition requirements and forms please visit the Arizona Department of Real Estate’s website at https://azre.gov/out-state-license-recognition.
Individuals seeking licensure through Out-of-State License Recognition must:
- Be an Arizona resident.
- Be currently licensed in another state for at least one year.
- Passed a real estate license examination in another state.
- Have completed an approved real estate prelicensing course and passed the licensing exam in the other state.
- Have not had a license or certificate revoked or voluntarily surrendered in any other state or country.
- Have not had any discipline imposed by another regulating entity, and has no pending complaint, allegation, or investigation.
The state requires a minimum amount of seat time in the course content. Our Online and Livestream course platforms monitor this requirement for each student. For Livestream and Classroom students who cannot make a class on time or need to miss a class they may reschedule for a later date and time in the online student account.
Students cannot receive credit for more than 10 hours (2 classes) a day. For students completing the online course, you may only access one session at a time, once that session is complete you may move on to the next. Each class is independent of one another and may be taken in any order.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Once you complete your 90 hours and pass your school exam, ASREB will email you an electronic certificate of completion, your certificate may also be accessed anytime in your online student account. You will need to present your certificate at the time of your state exam as well when you apply for your license with the Arizona Department of Real Estate. Course completion dates are recorded using Mountain Standard Time, therefore that will be the time reflected on your certificate.
Arizona Department of Real Estate
100 N 15th Ave #201
Phoenix, AZ 85007